“It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas”

With Christmas only a few days away now, I, like many of you, am still running around finishing up my shopping. The lines are long and the traffic is bad and it seems that everyone is just as stressed out about finding that perfect gift as I am. Sadly, I can only remember a hand full of times when it wasn’t like this. When I was a child, all that I loved about the season I could find in my home. The tree, the lights, the peppermint candies that I would sneak to eat in my room, and most of all, the traditions I shared with my family.

It being my second Christmas season at Methodist Stone Oak I also get the privilege of sharing in traditions with my work family. Every year our Methodist Gives program, which runs year round, collects gifts from 20947_MHS_Methodist_Gives_Logo_v3_OUTLINEemployees for employees within our hospital and system that have fallen on hard times and are unable to provide the Christmas they desire for their family. Through this favorite tradition of mine, these families are able to share the joy of the giving season with the ones they love. Reminding me that above all else, our commitment to Serve like Christ in every opportunity that arises rings true throughout the best and worst seasons in life.

I challenge you this year and for the years to come, to serve like Christ calls us to. Whether it is serving a family in need, your own family, or people you hold as close as family. Service comes from the heart, not always from the wallet. In this effort maybe one day soon we’ll be singing, “We’re beginning to serve a lot like Christ does!”


“May the Lord Bless you and Keep you; the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face to you and give you peace.” – Numbers 6:24-26

Photo Credits: Bil Sullivan Photography

 

Leave a Reply

